Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. For more information on how these cookies work please see the Cookies section at the bottom of our webpage. The cookies collect information in an anonymous form.

Save and close

Test Environment

Rupert Atkin and Brian Duperreault lead Insurance Day London Market Awards winners

05 Dec 2016

Rupert Atkin’s three decades in the Lloyd’s market were recognised as he was handed the lifetime achievement award at Insurance Day’s London Market Awards.

Rupert Atkin’s three decades in the Lloyd’s market were recognised last night when he was handed the lifetime achievement award at Insurance Day’s London Market Awards.
Atkin, best known for his long leadership of Talbot having founded syndicate 1183 in 1991, was hailed as a “stalwart defender of the values of the Lloyd’s market” as he received the award.
As well as his long tenure with Talbot, Atkin’s award recognised his market-wide efforts. During his long career he has chaired the joint war risk committee and the Lloyd’s Underwriters Association.
More recently, he chaired the Lloyd’s Market Association and he became deputy chairman of Lloyd’s in February 2014.

“As somebody who has worked in the Lloyd’s market all my career, I can’t tell you how chuffed I am to be receiving this award tonight,” Atkin said.
He thanked the brokers and reinsurers who have supported Talbot throughout his career, as well as his Talbot colleagues.

The London Market Awards also recognised the pioneering efforts of Hamilton’s Brian Duperreault, who received the Industry Achiever award for 2016. Duperreault was rewarded for Hamilton’s efforts to transform the underwriting process, demonstrated by the work his company has done with data science and predictive analysis, which has led to a joint venture with AIG. He was also recognised as a champion of diversity within the insurance industry and for his involvement in the DiveIn festival.

  • The Inclusion@Lloyd’s team won the Diversity and Talent Management Initiative of the Year award, recognised for bringing together senior executives from across the market to develop a more diverse and inclusive market.
    Company of the Year was awarded to Pool Re, in recognition of the modernisation efforts taken by the terrorism reinsurance backstop.
  • Hiscox Re won the Underwriting Team of the Year award and was recognised for its product development in areas such as cyber insurance and risk aggregation, which have added more than $75m in new premium since 2015.
    Ed’s energy team won the Broking Team of the Year for its work in the Iranian energy market, while Markel International won the Claims Team of the Year award.
  • Crawford and Company won Adviser of the Year for its Cyber Risk Solutions product.
  • The London Market Group was recognised for its efforts in giving the London market a voice in British government that it had lacked for decades, winning Insurance Initiative of the Year as a result.
  • Ascent Underwriting won the MGA Initiative of the Year award for Optio, its quote-and-bind portal for cyber and other professional risks.
  • Docosoft won the Technology Initiative of the Year award for its leading role in the provision of market-wide Write Back functionality to London.
  • Transaction of the Year was awarded to Axis Capital for the launch of Harrington Re, created through a partnership between the reinsurer and an asset management firm.

The judging panel awarded two winners of the Rising Star of the Year award.  Giacomo Favaron, GIS data officer at XL Catlin, was recognised for bringing a fresh perspective to his employer and the market through his expertise in geographic information systems.  And Kurt Cripps, global head of weather re/insurance at Aon Benfield, won for his efforts in developing a series of innovative products that included solutions for weather insurance, the airline industry, and extended warranty cover for smart technology.